我的第一个除夕在越南春节

农历新年 (新年) 假期可以是一个现实检查进行长期外国居民在越南和我一样.

没有人喜欢穿上无限期的旅游标签. 要努力在学习语言, 适应城市的步伐和节奏, 成为一个熟悉的面孔,一些你喜欢的供应商,并在一些自己喜欢的常去的地方......它开始变得可以说服自己你不同.

预TET制剂的狂热鼓励这种. 每个人都忙于自己的义务和承诺非常重视参观者在他们中间.

越南食品

但随后戈·恩盖TAT粘在农历12月30日的当天上午一个月到达. 从前面一周的狂热能源的暴跌是令人吃惊. 许多如果不是大多数店面都关门, 群众一旦堵塞每一个街角和小巷由最后一分钟购买者之间金橘树,桃花枝源源不断的涓涓细流被取代摆渡到他们的地方保留的骄傲跨越河内家庭.

“外人”之间的区别是立即擦除 - 你的所有观众. 没有什么能像看一个国家最重要的文化和社会活动,从你身边并且除了展开放气你觉得你可能已经赢得任何伪装.

只让我更加欣赏时,一个朋友问我是否愿意加入他的家庭在这标志着今年的最后一夜. 我对学校放假休息前,越南的教训已经覆盖了Djem酒店蛟Thừa的意义, 从旧的农历年的交叉新. 有一些惶恐.

我拼命地想避免无知或尴尬违反礼仪的玷污2013的开端. 携带礼物我会选择以下我的老师的仔细考虑的意见, 和压岁钱的红包,我确信我会在以后需要, 我加入了交通途中自己特殊的聚会,聚会. 黄奇帆哼着歌.

我到达时,我的朋友的妻子和他的女儿名动 新年大餐 (忘年) 楼下从那里曾经坐在家里的祭坛中心. 包括2012年的最后一餐的各种要素已经提供给神灵和祖先的家庭. 一个美丽的框架书法长卷从房间的墙上挂着我在那里欢迎.

一个歌颂耐心, 写在中国古典, 由主所掌握的技术总是在需求,但特别是在春节. 我们很欣赏它,而我尽量留出的方式. 筷子的嗒嗒声信号,一切准备就绪.

盛宴. 春卷, 既猪肉和海鲜, 青木瓜沙拉,牛肉干, 切熏猪肉, 绝对必要 班·钟 (由糯米制成方形蛋糕, 绿豆和proK启动), 在青春饭片与芋头和全蛋馅料结痂煎饺, 白切鸡, 竹笋汤 (红烧竹笋), 果岭的堆积碗, 量身定制的浸渍调味料和中草药相匹配的分类.

的核心是 丸子汤肉皮, 汤我以前没有尝过, 在通过干蘑菇加糖肉汤浸泡脱水炸猪皮制成, 对虾, 和新鲜蔬菜. 我不知道从哪里开始. 在大量的比有点势不可挡更多.

下屡次请求 让自己在家里 (松弛地 请随便一点,就像在自己家一样) 我在朋友家的慷慨沉迷. 有没有在我的碗里结束了停止的最好的赏金的他母亲的专家选择.

饮食从来没有真正结束. 它只是逐渐放缓. 虽然我们等待午夜的做法, 家庭享受VTV的喜剧广播的部分. 幽默似乎浑然天成. 我的朋友提到他的生意也没能逃过尝试经济今年反响. 开玩笑这些困难已确认和清扫了他们一边, 从第一时刻,清除他们的污点 2013.

我看着我的朋友的妻子和母亲安排在晚上的产品的第二盘. 有一个严肃到我的卑微通常愤世嫉俗的自我准备. 传统项目鸡, 水果, 饭, 盐, 水, 醇, 花,被划掉具有明显的保健精神的清单.

他的母亲指出她的家庭祭坛的产品将在稍后的日期被烧毁, TET的第三天计算为最吉祥. 香棒被点燃,我们离开了房子, 离开龙年的背后.

酒店外的街道是有过之无不一天最忙. 汽车和摩托车确保主要的观看位置. 孩子们穿过人群高呼, 认识的朋友和亲戚,并迎来他们交给更好的有利位置. 烟花爆竹的第一突发满足喜悦的集体呼喊声,只有在时间长了与眼镜的高潮. 每一个新的五颜六色的爆炸加入了庆祝的感叹号.

我的朋友解释了他的小女儿的出生年份使她成为最合适的选择 谁冲进家, 第一人越过家庭的门槛在新的一年. 我们走进她身后的行列 新年好s, 好卢克斯, 和其他的祝福.

幸运 (红包里面压岁钱) 分发给其收件人明显的兴奋和蜜饯坚果拼盘, 水果, 和种子被打开共享. 亲属在躲开, 贡献自己的红包和问候. 一瓶打开了另一轮的元旦小祝酒词. 他们的存在见证这样的真正的幸福感觉就像一种荣誉.

夜 (现在早上) 包裹着衷心的感谢和我一起拉青路循环家. 它的边缘被定义如机场跑道,房屋和企业对接的道路两旁都在燃烧自己的产品,以返回灶君. 小摊点销售的金色新年的问候和运气和身体健康的图标印甘蔗和大量的红色气球的袅娜矛.

成群的好友全都笑了过去一年的第一碗 PHO (米粉) 和 面条 (米粉面条) 和份量 遥远 (糯米饭) 或汽蒸片 (蒸米饭辊). 我犹豫要不要更多的粮食思想, 但乐观和喜悦的气氛仍然感染.

作为客人,特权observer-一个更好的开始到蛇年似乎难以想象.

(VOV)

My first Đêm Giao Thừa in Vietnam Tet

The Lunar New Year (Tết) holiday can be a reality check for longer term foreign residents in Vietnam like me.

No one enjoys donning the tourist label indefinitely. Make an effort at learning the language, adapt to the pace and rhythms of a city, become a recognisable face to some of your favourite vendors and at some of your favourite haunts…it starts becoming possible to convince yourself you’re different.

The mania of pre-Tết preparations encourages this. Everyone is too busy with their own obligations and commitments to pay much attention to the visitors in their midst.

vietnam food

But then the morning of Ngày Tất Niên—the 30th day of the 12th lunar month—arrives. The plunge from the preceding week’s frenetic energy is startling. Many if not most shopfronts are shuttered, and the masses once clogging every street corner and alleyway are replaced by the trickle of last minute purchasers amongst a steady stream of kumquat trees and peach blossom branches being ferried to their reserved prides of place in households across Hanoi.

Distinctions between “outsiders” are immediately erased—you’re all spectators. There’s nothing like watching a nation’s most important cultural and social event unfolding around and apart from you to deflate any pretensions you feel you might’ve earned.

Which only made me even more appreciative when a friend asked if I would join his family in marking the last night of the year. The Vietnamese lessons before my university break for the holiday had covered the significance of Đêm Giao Thừa, the crossover from the old lunar year to the new. There was some trepidation.

I desperately wanted to avoid marring 2013’s beginnings through ignorance or awkward breaches of etiquette. Carrying gifts I’d chosen following the carefully considered advice of my teacher, and the red envelopes of lucky money I was sure I’d need later, I joined the traffic en route to their own special gatherings and reunions. Anticipation hummed.

I arrived as my friend’s wife and his daughters were moving the bữa cơm tất niên (year-end party) downstairs from where it once sat at the centre of the house’s altar. The various elements comprising 2012’s final meal had already been offered to the gods and family ancestors. A beautifully framed calligraphy scroll hung from the wall of the room where I was welcomed.

An ode to patience, written in classical Chinese, by a master whose skills were always in demand but particularly during Tết. We admired it while I tried my best to stay out of the way. The clatter of chopsticks signalled everything was ready.

A feast. Spring rolls, both pork and seafood, green papaya salad with dried beef, sliced smoked pork, the absolutely essential bánh chưng (square cake made from sticky rice, green beans and prok), fried dumplings crusted in young rice flakes with taro and whole egg fillings, poached chicken, canh măng (braised bamboo shoots), heaped bowls of greens, an assortment of tailored dipping sauces and matching herbs.

The centrepiece was canh bóng bì lợn, a soup I hadn’t tasted before, made from dehydrated fried pork skin soaked in a broth sweetened by dried mushrooms, prawns, and fresh vegetables. I didn’t know where to begin. The plenty was more than a little overwhelming.

Under repeated urgings of cứ tự nhiên như ở nhà (loosely make yourself at home) I indulged in my friend’s family’s generosity. There was no stopping his mother’s expert selections of the best of the bounty from ending up in my bowl.

The eating never really ended. It just gradually slowed down. While we waited for midnight’s approach, the family enjoyed parts of VTV’s comedy broadcast. The humour appeared cathartic. My friend mentioned his business hadn’t escaped the repercussions of the trying economic year. Joking about such difficulties both acknowledged and swept them aside, clearing their taint from the first moments of 2013.

I watched as my friend’s wife and mother arranged the night’s second tray of offerings. There was a solemnity to the preparations that humbled my normally cynical self. Traditional items—chicken, fruit, rice, salt, water, alcohol, flowers—were crossed off a mental checklist with evident care.

His mother noted her household altar’s offerings would be burned at a later date, the third day of Tết calculated as the most propitious. Sticks of incense were ignited and we departed the house, leaving the Year of the Dragon behind.

The street outside was the busiest it had been all day. Cars and motorcycles secured prime viewing positions. Children were shouting across the throng, recognising friends and relatives and ushering them over to better vantages. The first bursts of fireworks met collective cries of delight that only grew in time with the spectacle’s crescendo. Each new colourful explosion added a celebratory exclamation point.

My friend explained his youngest daughter’s birth year made her the most suitable choice for người xông nhà, the first person to cross the household’s threshold in the new year. We entered behind her to a cavalcade of chúc mừng năm mớis, good lucks, and other well-wishes.

Lì xì (A red envelope with lucky money inside) was distributed to the obvious excitement of its recipients and a platter of candied nuts, fruit, and seeds was opened to share. Relatives ducked in, contributing their own red envelopes and greetings. A bottle was opened for yet another round of small New Year’s toasts. Just being there to witness such genuine happiness felt like an honour.

The night (now morning) wrapped up with heartfelt thanks and I cycled home along La Thành Road. Its edges were defined like an airport’s runway—the houses and businesses abutting both sides of the road were burning their own offerings to the returning Kitchen Gods. Small stalls sold willowy spears of sugarcane and massive red balloons emblazoned with golden New Year’s greetings and icons of luck and good health.

Groups of friends laughed together over the year’s first bowls of phở (rice noodle) and bún (rice vermicelli noodle) and servings of xôi (sticky rice) or steaming sheets of bánh cuốn (steamed rice rolls). I balked at the thought of more food, but the atmosphere of optimism and good cheer remained infectious.

As a guest—a privileged observer— a better start to the Year of the Snake seemed unimaginable.

(VOV)

Advertisement