朱莉娅·普莱温美国

朱莉娅·普莱温, 一个22岁的美国, 适用于环保NGO. 在工作之余,她还写已经在国际上发表的文章越南.

大学毕业后的第一年,对大多数人来说是一个挑战. 它提供发现生活是艰难的工作可能会很无趣.

这是第一次了许多新的毕业生都生活在自己的 - 结算支票簿, 做饭, 开始在新的城市新的就业机会, 和结交新朋友. 虽然开始在我自己的国家一个新的城市工作将是足够的挑战, 我从来就不是一个采取简单的方法. 我决定搬到河内我成年后的第一年.

我的父母爆冷战胜我决定采取毕业后的奖学金和工作在民间环保组织在河内. 他们从来没有到过亚洲,, 给他们, 越南还不如一直火星.

即使读完大学, 我想请我的父母的意见, 虽然我是谁知道什么是最适合我的唯一. 始终举棋不定, 我几乎支持我的决定来河内的出. 然而, 我终于决定,我需要生活在越南的经验,完全成为一个独立的人. 我坚持我的计划,并决定永远不再怀疑我做出任何决定.

当我的飞机降落在河内, 我很害怕, 但立志打造一个生活. 我不来了期待和发现生活是两个极具挑战性和喜人. 我曾经以为在纽约市,交通运输混淆了, 但现在交通秩序的想法和地铁系统似乎如同儿戏 .

我也是一个亚军,并没有像其在中央公园在纽约市运行, 但现在,我在植物园运行无尽圈, 我看到中央公园将如何豪华的是一个城市的亚军. 除了交通, 它被恐吓住在城市里的语言是不同于任何我听说过, 它是很难找到我用食物或鞋适合我的脚大.

然而, 这是使我大学毕业后的第一年相比更具挑战如果我留在美国的经验是究竟为什么我在河内很快乐,比我曾经去过. 开明的人的一种特殊类型被吸引到这里的动态的生活,我已经从世界各地取得了一些真正亲密的朋友. 我能和我的朋友交往,一边吃街头小吃, 通过萨帕徒步, 或参加在高级酒店和餐厅的社交活动.

河内本身就是诱人. 发现隐藏的佛教寺庙, 以史诗周末出游, 要时尚秀和艺术展示, 吃新食物的美味, 并在新的语言沟通只是我的几个日常生活中的令人振奋和独特的河内部分在这里.
我接触过河内以开放的心态,我都得到了回报.

我现在有初学者的心态,我没有在大学培养,我愿意尝试任何事情. 有这么多的人,我想,以满足和事件,我要参加,我不能在这一天找到足够的时间.

后通过大学课程勉强跋涉, 我很享受学习如何说话越南煮越南菜. 有很多书,我想在这里阅读有关的生活和历史, 但有这么多的城市,探索,我不能让自己坐下来足够长的时间来读一本书.

有河内,让我觉得活着和创业能量. 我想在这里开始T恤的业务,我已经开始自己的网站, www.hanoi575.com. 该网站是一个俳句的项目,因为我找到了 5-7-5 音节结构,适合于这个快节奏, 高度细致入微的城市. 我希望能得到数百Hanoians的贡献俳句的网站.

因此,虽然我可以采取更简单的途径, 开始在越南我的成年生活给了我,我需要面对生活中的优雅挑战的信心...和河粉一碗.
(当我可以让自己坐下, 我写我的个人成长在河内我的博客: www.profoundfluxpudding.blogspot.com。)

朱莉娅·普莱温

广告

Julia Plevin from America

Julia Plevin, a 22-year old American, works for an environmental NGO. In her spare time she also write articles on Vietnam that have been published internationally.

The first year after college is a challenge for most people. It serves notice that life is hard and work can be boring.

It is the first time many new graduates are living on their own – balancing checkbooks, cooking meals, starting new jobs in new cities, and making new friends. While starting a job in a new city in my own country would have been challenge enough, I’ve never been one to take the easy way. I decided to move to Hanoi for my first year of adulthood.

My parents were upset over my decision to take a post-graduation fellowship and work at an environmental NGO in Hanoi. They have never been to Asia and, to them, Vietnam might as well have been Mars.

Even through college, I would ask my parents for advice, although I was the only one who knew what was best for me. Always indecisive, I almost backed out of my decision to come to Hanoi. However, I finally decided that I needed the experience of living in Vietnam to fully become an independent person. I stuck with my plan and resolved to never again doubt any decision I make.

When my plane landed in Hanoi, I was terrified, but determined to create a life. I came without expectations and have found life to be both extremely challenging and gratifying. I used to think that transportation in New York City was confusing, but now the idea of orderly traffic and a subway system seems like child’s play .

I am also a runner and did not like having to run in Central Park in New York City, but now that I run endless circles in the Botanical Gardens, I see how luxurious Central Park would be for an urban runner. Beyond the traffic, it is intimidating to live in a city where the language is unlike anything I’d ever heard, where it is hard to find foods I am used to or shoes that fit my big feet.

However, the experiences that are making my first year after college more challenging than if I’d stayed in America are exactly why I am happier in Hanoi than I have ever been. A particular type of open-minded person is attracted to the dynamic life here and I have made some really close friends from all over the world. I am able to socialize with my friends while eating street food, trekking through Sapa, or attending social events at fancy hotels and restaurants.

And Hanoi itself is enticing. Discovering hidden Buddhist temples, taking epic weekend trips, going to fashion shows and art exhibits, eating new delicious foods, and communicating in a new language are just a few of the exhilarating and uniquely Hanoi parts of my daily life here.
I have approached Hanoi with an open mind and I have been rewarded.

I now have the beginner’s mindset that I failed to cultivate in college and am willing to try anything. There are so many people I want to meet and events I want to attend that I can’t find enough hours in the day.

After begrudgingly trudging through college courses, I am enjoying learning how to speak Vietnamese and cook Vietnamese food. There are many books I want to read about life and history here, but there is so much to explore in the city that I cannot make myself sit down long enough to read a book.

There is an energy in Hanoi that makes me feel alive and entrepreneurial. I want to start a t-shirt business here and I have started my own website, www.hanoi575.com. The website is a haiku project because I find the 5-7-5 syllable structure so appropriate for this fast-paced, highly-nuanced city. I hope to get hundreds of Hanoians to contribute haiku to the site.

So while I could have taken an easier route, starting my adult life in Vietnam has given me the confidence I need to face life’s challenges with grace…and a bowl of pho.
(When I can make myself sit down, I am writing about my personal growth in Hanoi on my blog: www.profoundfluxpudding.blogspot.com.)

Julia Plevin

Advertisement