的交叉路径的乐趣

在解释Vietna交通The joys of crossing pathsm是不合理的期望,如果你的听众从来没有经历过. 毕竟, 你怎么解释一个摩天大楼的摩尔?

相反,你必须采取类比: 想象这些影片, 从科学类或自然纪录片半想起, 的俯视着分子的显微镜彼此交互, 一千个微小粒子流和冲集体看上去似乎避开对方在最后可能的第二. 现在这个规模达千住越南所有骑跨在金属的野兽咆哮, 所有持有喇叭和意志过度使用它. 这是越南交通高峰.

从芽庄的海滨宽阔的大道会安的街头市场的狭小范围, 的性质王牌实际交通法规的永恒规律十之八九的. 如果你比你周围的大, 例如, 特别是如果你比迎面而来的车辆大, 你有正确的方法. 这里的道路两侧是相对的, 如果你在你的身边有大小,你应该扩展到适应超车自然差距. 首先, 不要害怕进出交通的编织时,你要快 – 只是注意行人和他们的粗心洗牌进步到另一边.

毫无疑问很多人都写在越南过马路, 有可能使用短语,如“改变生活的体验”和“不大可能危险”. 事实是,这是盲目的信仰,你可以在不连接到一个蹦极绳练习的最纯粹的形式, 正因为如此需要一些时间来适应. 永远不会有, 你靠马路的一边静置一段时间后实现, 在交通形成适当的间隙, 不是那种从与执行交通法规的国家的民间会期望,使其向对方. 相反,你必须采取的飞跃, 在一个涉及切断大脑的所有合理中心和几百驾驶摩托车回避技能信任,因为他们在声音的不和谐的河流流过.

令人惊讶的是 - 大部分时间 - 它的工作原理. 你一步中游有喃喃祈祷愚蠢的神,是整个吞下: 想象都被一棒子做出的图案被放入一个急流和你接近, 如果几百分贝更安静.

诡异的禅宗一样兴奋这类交叉诱导必须认真对待; 花费太多的和不可战胜的蠕动感就会出现, 与它的流氓骑自行车的盲目无知 (和汽车, 谁通常拒绝所有玩游戏的避税) 破坏你的一天,最有可能的长期的大脑活动. 关键是要继续前进, 慢慢地,在可预见的方式, 让湍急的交通知道你在哪里,在这里您将很快.

从公交车的相对安全目睹这种现象是在街道上观看它的经历完全不同, 和大致可以相比服用推土机通过拥挤的野餐区. 按照规则 #1, 公交车将占据当时无论道路的一部分,似乎可用,而较小的车辆分散像一个饥饿的狐狸这么多兔子.

每个公交车司机也似乎与凄楚引起痉挛在他们的手臂一种罕见的疾病折磨,因为它舒适地休息的号角以上; 要么, 或者他们恶毒连接到创造尽可能大的噪音可能在路上的想法, 即使在 4 在一夜间总线上的早晨.

牛角, 你必须了解, 不是越南的精英事. 他们给每一个公民与电动机的民主权利 (和几个不), 它是公民的义务每次你出现在路上的时间来行使这一权利. 来自德国的一位朋友最近告诉我,在她的地区是非法使用你的喇叭,除非是紧急情况. 因为我还没有完成在河内交通的旅程至少需要一个小的紧急, 我想看到的牛奶这个德国的天堂, 蜂蜜和沉默.

有些情况下,你可能会在越南使用喇叭许多方面: 让别人知道你的存在 ('打扰一下, 我可能会很快传递在你的左边”); 权利要求的路权: ('非常抱歉, 但这种差距你想迁入的? 那是我的, 和我将非常放出来,如果你在我之前占领。”); 感谢某人 (难得有一, 这个, 但我已经看到了一次或两次); 通知你即将做一些愚蠢或皮疹同胞道路使用者 (意识到自己又即将在约 2 米? 不用担心, 简单地给一个响亮的嘟嘟和整个交通疯狂转弯); 并表达愤怒 (“原谅我的好人, 你介意荷兰国际集团****关在那里并插入一些地方让太阳会不亮? 万分感谢。”)

毫无疑问,有更, 最后一个会使相当有分量的子类别本身, 但生命太短暂纪事世界的驾驶愤怒.

这不能说,这是一个特别安全的方法 (自) 组织交通系统 - 有超过事故, 我猜测, 你选择最多的地方,在欧洲提起 - 但问题是,它并没有在任何地方接近灾难往往你会期望结束. 像阿姆斯特丹城市骑自行车的人已经制定了防撞更有效的本能, 部分是因为他们处处周期, 但主要是因为他们面对冲突数百次的可能性天. 越南司机可以达到同样的与他们的摩托自行车, 尽管有大量更多的噪音和环境奖的前景较少, 我为一个向他们致敬在这. 机警敬礼, 与在酒吧双手和一只眼睛上,周围的外侧车道没有头盔突然转向那个疯子, 但尽管如此,敬礼.

安迪·雷德伍德 (VOV)

The joys of crossing paths

Explaining the traffic in VietnaThe joys of crossing pathsm is an unreasonable expectation if your audience has never experienced it. After all, how do you explain a skyscraper to a mole?

Instead you must resort to analogies: imagine those videos, half-remembered from science class or nature documentaries, of looking down a microscope at molecules interacting with each other, a thousand tiny particles flowing and rushing en masse while seeming to avoid each other at the last possible second. Now scale this up to a thousand living Vietnamese all sat astride snarling beasts of metal, all in possession of a horn and the will to overuse it. This is rush hour in Vietnam.

From the wide seaside boulevards of Nha Trang to the narrow confines of Hoi An’s street markets, immutable laws of nature trump actual traffic laws nine times out of ten. If you are bigger than those around you, for example, and especially if you are bigger than oncoming traffic, you have right of way. Sides of the road here are relative, and if you have size on your side you should spread to accommodate natural gaps for overtaking. Above all, don’t be afraid to weave in and out of traffic when you’re going fast – just watch out for pedestrians and their careless shuffling progress to the other side.

No doubts a lot has been written about crossing roads in Vietnam, likely using phrases such as ‘a life-changing experience’ and ‘improbably dangerous’. The truth is it’s the purest form of blind faith you can practice without being attached to a bungee rope, and as such takes some getting used to. There will never, you realize after standing by the side of the road for some time, be an appropriate gap in traffic, not the kind that folk from countries with enforced traffic laws will expect to make it to the other side. Instead you must take that leap, the one that involves switching off all rational centres of the brain and trusting in the avoidance skills of several hundred motorbike riders as they flow past in a cacophonous river of sound.

The amazing thing is that – most of the time – it works. You step midstream with a muttered prayer to the God of stupidity and are swallowed whole: imagine the pattern made by a stick being placed into a fast flowing stream and you’re close, if several hundred decibels more tranquil.

The strangely Zen like euphoria this sort of crossing induces must be treated carefully; take too much and a creeping sense of invincibility will appear, and with it the blind ignorance of rogue bikers (and cars, who generally refuse to play the avoidance game at all) to spoil your day and most likely long-term brain activity. The trick is to keep moving, slowly and in a predictable manner, so that the rushing traffic knows where you are and where you will be very soon.

Witnessing this phenomenon from the relative safety of a bus is entirely different from the experience of viewing it at street level, and can roughly be compared to taking a bulldozer through a crowded picnic area. In accordance with rule #1, buses will occupy whatever part of the road seems available at the time while lesser vehicles scatter like so many rabbits from a hungry fox.

Every bus driver also seems tragically afflicted with a rare condition that causes spasms in their arm as it rests comfortably above the horn; either that, or they are viciously attached to the idea of creating as much noise as possible while on the road, even at 4 in the morning on a night bus.

Horns, you must understand, are not an elitist thing in Vietnam. They are a democratic right given to every citizen with a motor (and a few without), and it is a civic duty to exercise this right every time you appear on the road. A friend from Germany recently told me that in her district it was illegal to use your horn unless it was an emergency. Since I haven’t yet completed a journey in Hanoi traffic without at least one minor emergency, I would like to see this German paradise of milk, honey and silence.

There are many ways in which you may use a horn in Vietnam: to make someone aware of your presence (‘excuse me, I may be passing on your left side very soon’); to claim right of way: (‘terribly sorry, but that gap you’re thinking of moving into? That’s mine, and I shall be terribly put out if you occupy it before me.’); to thank someone (a rare one, this, but I have seen it once or twice); to inform fellow road-users you are about to do something stupid or rash (realised your turn is coming up in about 2 metres? Not to worry, simply give a loud toot and swerve wildly across traffic); and to express anger (‘excuse me good fellow, would you mind ****ing off over there and inserting something where the sun doth not shine? Thanks ever so much.’)

There are undoubtedly more, and the last one would make a fairly weighty subcategory in itself, but life is too short to chronicle the world’s driving anger.

It can’t be said that this is a particularly safe method of (self-) organization for a traffic system – there are more accidents than, I suspect, most places you choose to mention in Europe – but the point is that it doesn’t end in cataclysm anywhere near as often as you’d expect. Bikers in cities like Amsterdam have developed more effective instincts for collision avoidance, partly because they cycle everywhere, but mostly because they face the possibility of collision hundreds of times a day. Vietnamese drivers have achieved the same with their motorized bicycles, albeit with a great deal more noise and fewer prospects of an environmental award, and I for one salute them in this. A wary salute, with both hands on the bars and one eye on that lunatic with no helmet swerving around the outside lane, but a salute nonetheless.

Andy Redwood (VOV)

Advertisement